{Guest Post} Five Ways To Stay Sane Over The Holidays

13 Dec

Having a few guest posts about the holidays while I’m taking my blog vacation.

The holidays are the most joyful and challenging stretch of the year. Here are five ways to keep your sanity all the way through!

The Best Equation

One of our family’s life equations is Tired + Hungry = Cranky.
If someone develops an attitude, it’s generally because he or
she needs food or sleep (or both).

I’m adding another equation just for the holidays: Eating Well
+ Regular Exercise + Adequate Sleep = Sane People. I know it’s
the holidays and we are surrounded by sugar, but you’ll feel
more even by limiting your indulgences and avoiding alternately
spiking and plummeting blood sugar levels. Even though it’s
chilly, get outside or to the gym three to four times a week.
Sleep enough each night to feel rested, and consider indulging
in extra naps.

Simplify

There will be some point between Halloween and New Year’s Day
that I will feel overwhelmed, so I clean out and reorganize a
closet or a room. This act of simplification helps me feel more
sane. This time of year can feel chaotic with weather changes,
school closures, and additional commitments. Do what you have to
do in order to simplify your life just during the holidays.

Keep a calendar and resist being busy every night of the week,
which will require skipping a holiday party here or there.
Carve out some money from your budget to eat at restaurants a
couple of extra times this month. Take a week or two off work
if possible and spend that time with your family and friends.
You’ll find yourself more intentionally enjoying this time of
year.

Give to Others

While I’m cleaning closets to feel more sane, I begin making
piles of health and beauty products, nonperishable food,
and clothing to donate to charity. Nothing helps me count my
blessings more than to realize not only how much I have, but
how much I can give away. Encourage your family members to help
gather and deliver these items with you.

A Special Outing

Alone time is scarce in my life, and I treasure every moment
of it during this time of year. Spend time alone in a favorite
activity, like hiking, photography, or scrapbooking at least
once during the holidays. Take yourself out for a movie or to
dinner – or both – and splurge on a small present for yourself.

Pamper Yourself

To take your special outing a bit further, carve some extra
money out for a manicure, pedicure or massage during this hectic
time of year. If you need justification, think of the planning,
budgeting, shopping, cooking and cleaning that you continue to
do from Halloween to New Year’s Day. You deserve some pampering!

Kelly Wilson is a freelance writer and editor with Teaching Resource Center, a teacher store pampering teachers with high-quality products and free teachers lesson plans.

2 Responses to “{Guest Post} Five Ways To Stay Sane Over The Holidays”

  1. Stef at TooMuchToDoSoLittleTime.com December 13, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    I LOVE “The Best Equation”! With everything going on in my life right now, I fall victim to the “Tired + Hungry = Cranky”. Today is a classic example. I really do need to do the other equation! Thanks for the reminder! 😀

    Hope it’s OK, I my borrow this for a much needed apologetic post! 😉

    Happy Holiday and loads of rest and good food!!
    Stef

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Equations aren’t just for math « Too Much To Do; So Little Time - December 13, 2010

    […] She has had some great posts that I just crack up over… Sara has a great post today called Five Ways to Stay Sane Over the Holidays. The first way listed hit home, especially today. Tired + Hungry = Cranky If someone develops an […]

Leave a Reply

