Friday Flips 11/5: The “Mustache Hate” Edition

4 Nov

Yes, I missed last week’s flips. Simply put, I was tired. I was tired of my birthday, tired of planning, tired of being sad when nobody remembered said birthday, and so freakin’ tired of Halloween… so I celebrated with Cesar Chavez instead.

A small amount of hatred goes to my name. My parents thought it was unique but by 5th grade, I hated it because it was so common and it was too innocent sounding. I go by a nickname, instead of Sara, but some people still call me by my real first name.

A shovel of flips goes out to certain bloggers. The bloggers I am referring to are ones that constantly refer to their writing as “funny” or “sappy” or “snarky”. I’m not hating on blogs that do this on occasion I’m talking about bloggers who do that on every single post. Honestly? Your writing isn’t that funny or snarky when you start off by writing “here is my funny/snarky post on my trip to the pumpkin patch.”

 “Friends” who criticize my spelling and grammar deserve some giant flips this week. Am I writing a research paper? I can write better than this, but this is a BLOG. Wud u rther iF i tyPed lyke dis?????????????? Or iF i tweeted lyke dis…

“Yo, jus got bac from da concert. awsum. my dawg died. hehe.”

That’s right, insult my grammar and the dog dies. *

Mustache haters? You get a big “F” in mustachinessness. As you know from my previous post, I love making mustaches on sticks. I now carry one everywhere I go to show friends or to strike up a conversation with the homeless man who lives by the supermarket. I do not know where this “mustache hate” comes from but it needs to stop. I have a mustache on a stick, so what? I’m not pushing it up to your face or anything… Okay, I did that once but I apologized to her afterwards.

Grow up, it is just a mustache! It’s not like it’s a Boba Fett blaster or anything…

A NOT Flip Off to WordPress for these recommended tags…

they know EXACTLY what I'm talking about!

What are you flipping off this week? Also, new username ideas? Anyone?

Click here to visit MommaKiss and the other bloggers who are flipping off today 

*= Just joking, of course. I’m pretty sure that’s illegal and stuff. Also? It’s messy.

12 Responses to “Friday Flips 11/5: The “Mustache Hate” Edition”

  1. MommaKiss November 5, 2010 at 5:37 am #

    Eff OFF to those who forgot your birthday. Want to know what happened to me? I had an amazing birthday – notes from so many people. But my family? ALL OF THEM? Didn’t say shit. I mean, my sister, I understand, she’s kinda a douche canoe. But the rest of them. Nothing. Not even a “sorry it’s late.” That digs in deep.
    I like the blog name – no help there.
    And will ya send me a mustache?

    • Sara @ Tedious Life November 5, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

      My parents remembered me. My friends? Only two people even said Happy Birthday- after I told them it was my birthday. I let the rest of them figure out why I was pissed. I rmember all of their birthdays but they can’t remember mine. Urg…

      I actually could send you a mustache… Ya know, if your into that kinda thing.

      P.S. Love the word Douchecanoe

  2. Kim November 5, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    the mustache thing? cracking me up. would so love to see that. my kids would insist on making them for days, then i’d be all, ‘i had mustaches!’ (sometimes i kill myself with my FUNNY POSTS) also, i absolutely adore your name. i named my middle daughter sarah, so i guess i’m partial. also? not using punctuation here, just for you and those haters. because i agree. this is not english class. i make mistakes that ‘spellcheck’ does not catch.

  3. Lindsay Dianne November 5, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    I actually came over here cuz I thought that you were going to say that you hate moustaches.
    I LOVE MOUSTACHES.
    I’d let you shove yours in my face anyday. Even if our spellings didn’t match.
    Which they don’t.
    Because mine is wrong.
    But that’s okay! WORD!

    • Sara @ Tedious Life November 5, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

      Ha, I have a friend who always spells it “moustache” even though she is an American. That’s the spelling she perfers.

  4. Nicole @Laugh Outloud November 6, 2010 at 12:20 am #

    My Birthday is 9 days before Christmas. I totally understand how it is for your Birthday to get overlooked. I hope you did something great for yourself for your Birthday!

    I hate how people talk about how their snarky blogs.. but you truly should check out mine cause it’s overly stupendously awesome, because I’m only slightly snarky… and it’s almost subtle {KIDDING}

    Stopping by from the Tea Party – and not the Conservative kind.. see ya!

  5. Ashley Mercedes November 6, 2010 at 6:41 am #

    Great post! Very funny! I found you on Lady Bloggers Society! Have a great weekend xoxo

  6. Charlotte November 8, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    I don’t like bloggers who tell us what their writing is either. Let the reader figure it out him/herself!

    I hated my name growing up, too. With a name like Charlotte, it’s hard to get by without at least a little bit of ridicule. I desperately wanted to be a Sara or a Jen or a Stacey–anything that wouldn’t stand out as much.

    Mustache on a stick?! I want one!!! :p

    Stopping in today from LBS tea party. You have a great blog! And happy belated birthday 🙂

    • Sara @ Tedious Life November 8, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

      At least people can spell your name right (there are no common variations of Charlotte, right?). I always get “Sarah” so I used to go by “Sara- no h.”

      So glad I have a nickname now.

  7. Stef November 10, 2010 at 1:26 am #

    eye luv yor blogg! 😉 I’m with you on blog grammar… there’s a time and place for being picky.

    Seriously, Sara, I really do love your blog. You make me laugh when I need it. Thanks! I’m sorry people missed your birthday. My father missed my THREE years in a row! ARGH! A$$! Not sure why… guess it’s cuz I’m the one he wants to forget! 😦

    We’re all here for you!

    As for a new nickname… haven’t a clue… it took me a long time to come up with a blog name… I was too busy to think of a name! The Offspring is the one who came up with TooMuchToDoSoLittleTime.com! It is SO the story of my life!

    Take care,
    Stef

  8. gigi November 13, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    you have made me reconsider calling my blog snarky. Or including that word in my elevator pitch. Not that I actually have one.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Friday Flips 11/5: The “Mustache Hate” Edition « Tedious Life -- Topsy.com - November 5, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sara, Sara. Sara said: New Post! Friday Flips 11/5: The "Mustache Hate" Edition http://wp.me/pOrX0-E8 […]

Leave a Reply

