Halloween, Elections, Dog, and Mustaches (possibly a ninja too)

3 Nov

 

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

October 27th 

This was my birthday. My friends forgot me. When I tried to call them the day after my birthday, they ignored me. They probably went to a Halloween party without me.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

October 31st

It was Halloween and Day of the Dead in America’s pants (Canada is America’s hat so…). Day of the Dead is a day when altars complete with food, flowers, candles, and pictures are set up in remembrance of a dead relative. It is believed that the spirit finds their way to the altar and enjoys the food and celebration. I hate Halloween since it always messes up my birthday (it was the 27th) so I decided to learn more about the Day of the Dead. I decided to make a fake Day of the Dead altar to Cesar Chavez, so I went to Michael’s and bought some candles, a paper mache skull, and some fake flowers. I’m not actually related to Cesar Chavez but I’m a pale Norwegian-American so I didn’t know what to do.

Setting up the Ofrenda (altar) for Cesar Chavez was a fun learning experience. It was actually worth getting the weird looks at Michael’s when I told them I was trying to use my candles, flowers, and skull to meet Cesar Chavez.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

November 1st

I didn’t meet Cesar Chavez. I still had fun learning…

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

November 2nd

I picked up the phone…

Me: Hello?

Chain smoking 45 year old woman: Are you a Democrat or Republican?

 

Possible Voter

Me:

I don’t know.

Woman: Do you know that [candidate] will protect your money?

Me: Isn’t he the one who lied about everything?

Woman: Yes, but what he didn’t lie about was his promises to keep your wallet safe. [Other candidate] lied about those.

Me: Well, I’m actually a Canadian.

Woman: Really? Are there any Americans there?

Me: No, I’m from a family of Canadians. Although, my dog was homeless in the Chicago suburbs when he was a puppy.

Woman: …bye.

Animal discrimination? I think so.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

November 3rd

I realized that I had a blog I forgot about. I also realized that I’ve made so many mustaches on sticks that it’s now an addiction.

6 Responses to “Halloween, Elections, Dog, and Mustaches (possibly a ninja too)”

  1. amyblam November 3, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    I actually think your stick mustache is adorable. The 27th is my anniversary. Well, I suppose it’s my hubs as well.
    My birthday is January 10. Being that close to Christmas AND NYE, it’s always a bit of a letdown. Plus, as a child I felt like I never had any spring clothes since I got winter clothes for Christmas and my birthday. I also never got to have a pool party.
    Sigh.
    This is rambley.
    I’m glad you’re back.

    • Sara @ Tedious Life November 4, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

      A friend of mine has her birthday near yours. This year, she’s promising to take some close friends sledding since that is the only thing you can do with a winter birthday. Yay?

  2. Greta November 3, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Well, I’m not Canadian, but I didn’t vote either. Screw it. I voted the last time and it didn’t do me much good.

    I was wondering if you fell off the face of the earth. I missed your silly posts. I, too, forgot I had a blog and only recently contributed to it. My poor twin sister is the only one that remembers about it and posts stuff. I just feel like no one cares about my family woes, anger management issues, depressive nature, or how I feel about a certain product. I keep writing crap, but no one really cares.

    Well, alternatively, I do care that it was your birthday. Happy belated birthday Sara. If I could I would send you a card. You make me laugh, so you should at least get an overpriced picture on cardstock with some corny joke about getting older.

    Welcome back and thanks for the laugh…Ceasar Chavez. WTF.

    • Sara @ Tedious Life November 4, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

      Thanks, Greta.

      I pieced together this “I’m not dead” post in about twenty minutes and published it. I hope to write more… planned posts? I suppose that’s the right word.

  3. MommaKiss November 5, 2010 at 5:39 am #

    forgetting your birthday is downright wrong. on so many levels.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Flips 11/5: « Tedious Life - November 4, 2010

    […] Friday Flips 11/5: November 4, 2010 by Sara @ Tedious Life Yes, I missed last week’s flips. Simply put, I was tired. I was tired of my birthday, tired of planning, tired of being sad when nobody remembered said birthday, and so freakin’ tired of Halloween… so I celebrated with Cesar Chavez instead. […]

Leave a Reply

