I’m a horrible blogger!

9 Aug

I was at the book store today. To my surprise, they had Robert Pattinson and Justin Bieber calendars. I came across a good book while I was trying to run away as fast as I could decide which hottie I wanted displayed by my desk.

I found and bought THE book on blogging and I am not getting paid to say this (but I should, please send money).

I learned blogging like how I learned how to ride a ‘big girl’ bike. I found my balance and kicked the pedals as hard as I could. Here I am, after a few changes and a new CPU (my last one was kicked), with Tedious Life.

This book has shown me that I missed a lot of stuff during my early blogging days. It talks about picking an audience and a niche BEFORE the blog is created. I just started writing my (now deleted) crappy first posts the day I started Tedious Life and thought, “I’m not blogging for any reason so I’m going to just write these random posts.”

What did I do right?

WordPress- WordPress was the first website I tried a few years ago and it was instant bloggy love at first sight. I’ve also tried Blogger, Webs, and a few other websites but they didn’t match up to the awesomeness that is WordPress. I’ve been thinking about taking Tedious Life to the next level with WordPress.org… I can already imagine the plug-ins now…

Tedious Life isn’t a textbook-I like writing and reading posts that sound like an informal conversation between two friends eating pancakes. I’m currently a student so I don’t want to write an emotionless textbook after I’m forced to read one.

My Layout- Tedious Life doesn’t have a black background with white writing because blogs that do make me want to punch a baby walrus.

The Name- ALWAYS start your blog with an ‘A’ or ‘B’ so you’re at the beginning of alphabetized lists. (Ronda from A is for Aardvark is flipping intelligent.) I’m just thankful that I didn’t put ‘the’ or ‘my’ in front of the domain name as I had originally planned because little words like that are difficult to remember. 

Some people still like to call my blog The Tedious Life and I have no idea where that came from.  

Here are the things I still have to accomplish

Schedule Posts- I’m trying to write some posts in advance and schedule them throughout the rest of August and September while I’m writing long research papers and studying.

Writing more guest posts- The book talks about this too and I feel like such a blogging loser for not doing enough of it. I’m so sad that I’m including this frowny face in my post: 😦 .

Twitter & Facebook- I’m pretty sure that even old ladies can Facebook now thanks to those dang internet classes for the elderly. Where are the internet classes for the young people?

Is there anything that you wish you had done differently in the beginning? Is there anything you are so happy that you did right?

Share

22 Responses to “I’m a horrible blogger!”

  1. Alexandra August 9, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    My HUGE regret is not thinking more about what I wanted to look like. I should’ve hopped round and made a decision. Now, I’m kinda stuck being who I am.

    I’d like to be like The Next Martha of The Martha Project.
    Clean, straight, simple, straight up humor. Just text, no pix…

    • Sara @ Tedious Life August 10, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

      And there isn’t anyway you could slowly change your blog now?

      A lot of people love your blog so don’t feel too bad.

  2. jannatwrites August 10, 2010 at 12:22 am #

    I ran across your blog by browsing recent ‘writing’ posts (just letting you know because I get curious how random people sometimes land on my blog).

    I liked this post. Looking at the points you listed, it seems my blog is about halfway all right. I’m good with that 🙂

    Love your comment on the dark background with white letters – poor baby walrus, though 😦
    P.S. – I’ve never used Twitter or Facebook and I’m pretty sure thirty-something isn’t old enough to use an excuse. It might be helpful to do so, but I’m not going there right now.

  3. rivkachka August 10, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    Hmmmm… For my first blog (at Blogger, still), in the beginning I would have liked to have had more focus, but I think I’m getting there. Also, I wish I would have understood what tags were used for. I came up with all sorts of crazy, descriptive yet completely useless tags, and eventually went back and re-tagged (ugh). I also still want to learn more about blogging etiquette. I don’t want to be a jerk.

    You should know that I found your site through a comment you made on another blog (I don’t remember which one now). Your avatar really jumped out and made me curious to see your blog. I guess you can put that in your “things you did right” column.

    So, which calendar did you get?

    • Sara @ Tedious Life August 10, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

      You’re not alone because I’m still trying to find my focus too.

      Would writing a blog etiquette post interest you? I’ve actually been thinking about doing more blogging posts.

  4. Cheryl @ An Inquiring Mind August 10, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    Found you through your comment on Lady Blogger’s Society…..I love what I’ve read so far! You’re entertaining…..this is what I want my blog to be! 🙂

  5. gigi August 10, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    I wish I had connected with blogger communities more quickly. Such a huge help and resource. I was a food blogger for 18 months before I even knew blog networks existed!! I also wish I had understood more about advertising and monetization when I started so I’d know that I might not ever make money at this 🙂

    • Sara @ Tedious Life August 10, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

      The huge book that I bought on blogging is teaching me a bunch of cool ways to make blogging cash. I’m sitting on a gold mine!

      hahahaha!

  6. Susie @ A Slice of my Life August 11, 2010 at 1:43 am #

    Rules? We are actually supposed to follow rules? Huh… lol

    If I could change one thing, it would be to start out with my own domain name right away. I changed over last Feb and it totally threw off what I had of my focus!

    btw, I found your through your LBS comment

  7. Miss Rebecca August 11, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    It still is my beginning right now! Good thing I’m reading through these, but I guess it will take away some of my ‘natural growth’ as a blogger, so maybe I will just continue down my current path until someone says “Hey, your boring us!”

  8. Angel August 11, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    I think you have a wonderful blog! I didn’t do any of those things either! lol I still haven’t figured out what type of blog I have, or how to make a facebook or twitter page for it!

  9. Lori August 12, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Great post! – and a great blog, too, by the way. I wish I had thought about the name game. First of all, I’m not even Waterstone Jewelry anymore. Simply Waterstone now. It still sucks to find my blog at the END of a list. 😦

    • Sara @ Tedious Life August 12, 2010 at 11:43 am #

      You could buy a domain and redirect your old domain to your new one but that takes money and time.

  10. MissCapaTosta.com August 12, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    Sara: First of all, great name. (I’m a Sarah, with the “H”). Second, I love your humor. Third, I found your site through your guest post on the Lady Bloggers Society. I look forward to following you. 🙂

  11. Karen August 14, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    I wish I had read this BEFORE I started a blog with a W name! I had no thought of that at all. One of my followers told me I show up last in her reader so she rarely gets to me:( Stopping by from LBS. Have a great weekend.

  12. Bea - The Girly Tomboy August 14, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    I live for summer, so when it ends, I am always really sad. As for boys wearing their pants too low, I could not agree with you more. It’s really getting out of hand. I was having breakfast out with my sis this morning, and a guy got up from a neighboring table and his pants were BELOW HIS BUTT CHEEKS!!! Seriously, dude! Pull up your pants!

  13. Bea - The Girly Tomboy August 14, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    BTW – found you through the LBS tea party! 🙂

  14. Mandy August 16, 2010 at 5:31 am #

    Sara,
    Coming to you via Blog Connect and love your blog. You know, I’ve gone back and forth between the stress of what others say my blog should be in order to get readers and what I feel like doing! I do wish I could schedule posts! I’m still doing the post it as I go thing. I wish I’d started writing a bunch of future posts before even starting my blog! Oh well, there’s something to be said for going with the flow of the moment. Which reminds me, you were mentioning guest posters…I’ll send you a message on Blog Connect to discuss.

    Mandy

Leave a Reply

