5 Reasons Why I Shouldn’t Babysit Kids

2 Aug

Q- I’m a young girl with no kids so I should babysit on the weekends, right?  

A- No, I should not.  

1.)    You shouldn’t trust me with your kids.  

.

There is a reason that I have a Robo hamster as a pet. You change the water and put a small handful of seeds in the dish everyday and you only have to clean out the cage once a week. Honestly, I would forget to feed my dog twice a day if he didn’t remind me.  

2.)    I wouldn’t know what to do  

What would we do during your absence? Your kid and I could play board games or something but that becomes boring after ten minutes.  

Your kid will probably…  

  • Watch the Kardashians with me.
  • Go shopping with me and listen to my complaints about all the ‘hooker clothes’ people can buy now.
  • Watch me as I update my blog.
  • Watch Maury with me.
  • Eat tacos.
  • Do household chores after I bribed them with extra sugar and no bedtime.
  • Play with replica lightsabers and get yelled at because, “Lightsabers are for Jedi use ONLY!”

3.)    I’m not the best role model  

It isn’t my fault if your kid comes home and says asshat, assmonkey, or any other ass variation. Blame it on yourself or on the Kardashians, but don’t blame me.  

4.) I don’t play ‘trains’ or ‘dolls’  

Dolls are creepy.  

And those trains you bought your son with the faces on them? Also very creepy.  

We might play restaurant if your kid brings a few stuffed animal ‘customers’ over but I have to be the cook and NOT the waitress.  

 I don’t play grocery store or house. It’s beneath me.  

5.) I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed  

I’ll forget your kid at Wal-Mart.    

  

Parents, do you really want to leave your kids with me? 

Stuffed Animals Picture Source

Share

7 Responses to “5 Reasons Why I Shouldn’t Babysit Kids”

  1. Greta August 2, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    you will make the perfect mom someday. lol
    I love the “asshat” comment. I wish my 6 year old said that instead of “Mom, seriously?” Ugh. Drives me nuts. He doesn’t even know what he is saying. At least “asshat” would make me double over laughing.

    • Sara @ Tedious Life August 2, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

      Mom or not, I’m not giving up my television shows. 🙂

      I went through a habit of saying “Seriously?” a few years ago. I broke the habit once I realized how annoying it was so I hope your kid does too.

  2. gigi August 2, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    Funny, funny! Love it! There are worse things than the Kardashians, though. 🙂

  3. Helen August 3, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    Love it! I often wish I could hand a list like this to my husband about our own kids!

    • Sara @ Tedious Life August 3, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

      I was thinking about printing my list out and handing a copy to everyone who wants me to babysit.

  4. MissCapaTosta.com August 12, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    I was nodding my head in agreement while reading your list, until I heard my kid screaming upstairs. Uh oh…. Not A Good Babysitter = Not Mother Material. Whoops.

Leave a Reply

