The Secrets of a Checkout Ninja

3 Jun

 I examine the detail of each lane carefully.  I want to get out of the store as soon as possible and I don’t care how many old ladies I elbow out of the way to do it! How can you do this too? Err… I mean getting out of the store checkout quicker not elbowing old ladies. I’m pretty sure you can figure out the “Elbow & Run” technique on your own.

Watch Out For Baggies!

I always look out for those little plastic baggies that hold doughnuts, rolls, or produce. This means the cashier has to put in codes. I’ve heard an employee say, “Oops! Now I have to start all over again” way too many times to count.  I don’t blame the cashier for their mistakes. I blame the idiot that came up with those “Buy 10 Apples, Get 1 Free!” sales.

Bodies & Stares

The name sounds weird but it’s a beneficial step! Watch out for the woman holding a few items that keeps staring behind her.  Another member of her party will show up with a full cart of goods soon. The same thing goes for people with a few things in their cart. Another person will always show up, goods piled in hand.

It’s also pretty smart to watch how fast the cashier is moving. A slow cashier may not look like a hassle when the person in front of you only has few items, but they are! Maybe they’re new or just having one of “those days”, I avoid them because I don’t want to make them feel worse…. and I don’t want to wait.

Coupons

Watch out for the customer with a huge stack of coupons. Period. Last time I waited behind the Coupon Lady, a ‘Smack Down’ started over the price of a can of Tomato soup.

Find “Your” Cashier

You can also go into the store and find the one cashier that always seems to keep the line moving. This works best if you always go to the store on the same day around the same time. Always try to get into that cashier’s line. Soon, “your” cashier will seem like your hair stylist or mechanic. It’ll feel weird whenever anybody else makes you pay for the groceries.

 

You’ll be a Checkout Ninja in no time!

Sara :mrgreen:

[RANDOM]   Now that summer is here, I’ll try to post more often. I feel like I’ve been neglecting Tedious Life   [/RANDOM]

~~All Images In This Post Are In The Public Domain~~

5 Responses to “The Secrets of a Checkout Ninja”

  1. Amy June 4, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    At one point or another….I have had every one of those observations. Also, being a mother of three who refuses to use the “car” or “firetruck” cart, look out for those. They steer with the grace of a freight truck in a drive-thru and block the aisle, which means mom or dad have to keep backing up to squeeze by.

    • Sara June 4, 2010 at 10:40 am #

      I forgot about those. I really hate when you are visiting a store that has small aisles to begin with and one of those red monsters is cutting off the main aisle.

    • LizCunnings June 5, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

      Have you ever seen those carts with the tiny televisions inside? I wish I could use one of those for myself while an older person does my shopping!

  2. Amy June 11, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    I went to the store last night and made the mistake of getting in the line of a “TRAINEE”….how could I have missed that bright yellow alert hanging from her name tag!! I immediately thought of this post. 🙂

  3. imcoolyoto June 15, 2010 at 2:42 am #

    I like it thnx 🙂

Leave a Reply

