Woman Sues Popcorn Giant; Ate 3 Bags A Day For 16 Years

23 May

I thought some idiot ate some popcorn, developed problems related to a poor diet, and decided to sue the popcorn industry. I was wrong on so many levels!

A New York woman ate 2-3 bags of microwave popcorn for 16 years, developed problems due to (gasp!) overeating a large amount of popcorn, and decided to sue the popcorn industry. This woman developed Popcorn Lung. Popcorn Lung is a rare disease that is caused by Diacetyl (or Biacetyl) which is an ingredient that gives microwave popcorn its buttery taste. Diacetyl is only dangerous when it is heated and inhaled over a long period of time; this is why many workers from popcorn factories have developed this disease.

We all know what happens when a bag of microwave popcorn is opened; all those fantastic smelling vapors enter the air. This woman has been inhaling these fumes 2-3 times a day for 16 years which means she had inhaled enough to develop the rare respiratory disease called Popcorn Lung. She must carry an oxygen tank at all times because her illness has narrowed and inflammed the bronchioles (small airway branches) in her lungs.

What did she have to say about her disease and popcorn consumption?

“I was eating two or three bags of popcorn a day. I didn’t know it would destroy my lungs.” (Gothamist)

She just thought it would destroy her heart… Don’t get me wrong, I feel sorry for this sick woman. The only question I want to know is why didn’t she just flip the box over and read the ingredients? I decided to read the ingredients of an old box of popcorn in my kitchen cabinet. In big, bolded letters it states “NO ADDED DIACETYL”. This leads me to believe that Diacetyl was printed there at one time (I checked, the popcorn brand used it at one time).

Even if Diacetyl was not listed on the ingredient list, why would she consume something in excess without knowing what was in it? She sounds like the overweight teens who sued McDonalds. This is another reason why people should become more educated about what they eat. I wonder how the court case will go.

I have good news for you if you like to eat microwave popcorn in excess; there are currently two bills in the California Legislature to ban the use of Diacetyl and there are several popcorn brands that do not use Diacetyl. An even better alternative is to make your own popcorn at home without the microwave and top it with real, melted butter. It’s a delicious snack that tastes better than microwave popcorn.

5 Responses to “Woman Sues Popcorn Giant; Ate 3 Bags A Day For 16 Years”

  1. NintendoPassion May 29, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    Great! Get fat, sue the maker! Like he was telling you to eat only his food. I’d sue the woman for stupidity.

    No wonder Europeans laugh at fat women and associate them mostly with Americans.

    So bad, so sad.

    • Sara May 29, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

      Exactly! “A few days ago, I got sick from drinking too much milk at once. I wonder if I can sue the milk industry…”

  2. Ain't It Strange June 2, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    If only she subscribed to the philosophy that you should only eat popcorn when watching a movie. Although, with the amount of movies I watch I might get popcorn lung soon. : /

    • Sara June 2, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

      On the bright side, you can sue even though it’s your fault! 😀

Leave a Reply

